mesmeri

pixel mash

Posted in events, my work by mesmeri on 25/06/2009

I went to watch the Pixel Mash finals last night. It’s basically a “design-off” where designers battle it out – each contestant being given a word, an image, and 15 minutes to come up with a design.

They were a couple of contestants short yesterday so Nicole volunteered ourselves…

.

First Round
image: radio
word: HAPPINESS

It was very stressful. I was not prepared. I didn’t even know what to do until there was 4 minutes to go, but somehow, I managed to do this:
julia_pixelmash1

The audience voted in that round and I won. I was so happy to have been able to come up with something in such a stressful environment, and went to sit down. Then I was told I had to go in the finals in ten minutes against the finalists from previous weeks. I was still overwhelmed from the previous round, but here goes…

.

Second Round
image: old mouse
word: DEFIANCE

Unlike in the first round, I sat for a few minutes and thought about exactly what I wanted to convey. It was in the “how” that I had problems. 10 minutes of madly scribbling / deleting in Illustrator and Photoshop later, I had this:
julia_pixelmash2

Very poorly drawn, but the idea is there… I kicked myself when I saw the other beautifully illustrated and highly-polished entries. Then came the audience voting and judging. My friends must have been the loudest cheerers in the world, because I won! I got some nice products from the Apple Store.

It was the most unexpected thing ever, suddenly I had two more bags to carry… but no complaining here!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kaefka said, on 29/06/2009 at 19:52

    Congratulations, the first one is incredibly skillful, the second one not so much… but still better than whatever I or any of my descendants will ever do – especially in 15 minutes.

    Stay cool this holidays.


Leave a Reply

